how to change 3V circuit to work with 3.7VDC battery?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by joefly, Apr 14, 2010.

1. joefly

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 14, 2010
    Hi All, I am trying to build a hearing aid for my father. I have gone through many trials of different boards, finally found one that seems to work well, but the problems is that it was designed to work on 3VDC and I want to use 3.7VDC LI-ion rechargeable batteries also to integrate it with other circuits that I am combining it with. I got the board built and with 3.7VDC it works fine but the chip gets very hot quickly, if I use 3V then it seems to be fine. so the question is, is there a simple way to modify this board as TDA2822M is designed to work with higher voltage or another simple method of dropping the source voltage from 3.7 to 3V?

The circuit that I am referring to is http://www.crukx.com/education/bac/ee/projects/files/Hearing Aid.pdf

BTW, I am a manufacturing engineer and not EE. So go easy on the technicals.

Thanks in advance.

2. Lesaid

Apr 16, 2008
    Would adding a series silicon diode with around 0.6-0.7 voltage drop perhaps do the trick?

3. joefly

Apr 14, 2010
    Thanks Lesaid,

I did a google search and ran across such use of diodes, But do you have a specific part number and how to use it. And when you say series, what do you mean?

Thanks

4. Audioguru

Dec 20, 2007
    The TDA2822M is designed to work perfectly with a supply from 1.8V to 15V.
    Its idle current with a 3V supply is typically 5.2mA and with a 4V supply its is typically 5.7mA so it dissipates only 4V x 5.7mA= 0.023W which is nearly no heat.

Since yours gets hot then it is probably oscillating at a high frequency maybe beause it is built on a breadboard. Use a compact pcb as shown in its datasheet.

5. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    The diode would be part number from 1n4001 to 1n4007, but Audioguru is right, too. It won't hurt to try a diode because you can also remove it.

6. beenthere