how to calculate floating point in MCU with C

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by bug13, Dec 26, 2012.

1. bug13

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Feb 13, 2012
    Hi guys

I have been teaching myself MCU and C randomly for a few months now (mainly through making stuff, if anything I don't know, google it).

So I recently making a temperature sensor with my new msp430 launchpad, dh11 temperature sensor and display it on a lcd0802(something like lcd1602), I got it working except I want to calculate the dew point, and I am stucked.

my code is:
    Code ( (Unknown Language)):
    1. uint8_t calculate_dew_point(float temp, float r_humidity)
    2. {
    3.     return pow((r_humidity/100),(1/8))*(112+0.9*temp)+0.1*temp-112;
    4. }
    I couldn't get the same answer as my calculator, so what am I missing here? what do I need to google to get it work?

Thanks guys! :)

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    Unless you have the necessary floating point libraries for your compiler, I wouldn't bother with floating point; instead use fixed point.

If you do have the libraries, make note that (1/8) is zero. This is because both the numerator and denominator have been given as integers, which tells the compiler to perform integer division, which truncates any fractional part. In C, always be explicit when using floating point values, so use (1.0/8.0) instead.

bug13 likes this.
  3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Couple of points. Floating point calculations require a lot of resources from an MCU.
    If you have limited memory space it is easier to do fixed point math. A simple solution is to multiply all values by 10 or 100 and manually insert the decimal point in the result.

The second point is proper dewpoint calculation is very complex and includes exponential functions. The equation you show is very simplistic.

bug13 likes this.
  4. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009