How to calculate antenna lengths.

Jason78

Joined May 26, 2016
If I have a humminbird sonar fish finder operating on 115 kHz / 0.115mhz .

I'm looking to expose the antenna on both reciever and transmitter .

Now my problem is how would I calculate the correct length of antenna on each device to get maximum range of reception ?

Is there anyone out there who could calculate the math on this or simplify how it's done accurately please ?

Any help with this would be great fully recieved as its burning my head out .

Jay​

Jason78

Joined May 26, 2016
I'm confused by it all tbh br-549 . Wish I hadn't attempted the conversion .

I have converted both devices and exposed the antennas but I seem to of shortened the range rather than extending it :(

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
I am by no means an ultrasonic expert. An ultrasonic transducer (not a true antenna) is sorta like a speaker/microphone combination.

Only instead of creating pressure waves in air.......it produces pressure waves in water.

Sonar is just a high frequency audio transmitter and receiver.

Study sonar and ultrasonic transducers.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I'm guessing that ultrasonic sensors improve with increased area. Not sure about ultrasonic transmitters. Beyond the shadow of a doubt they are in no way related to radiowaves. If they were, the half-wave dipole length would be approximately 1300 Meters from end to end. Clearly an impractical system for your purposes.

Jason78

Joined May 26, 2016
I'm guessing that ultrasonic sensors improve with increased area. Not sure about ultrasonic transmitters. Beyond the shadow of a doubt they are in no way related to radiowaves. If they were, the half-wave dipole length would be approximately 1300 Meters from end to end. Clearly an impractical system for your purposes.
Yes papabravo

Ideally it would be a wireless system I think a 1300 meter antenna wouldn't be practicle .

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013