How to build simple game console

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ddatvo, Aug 29, 2013.

1. ddatvo

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 29, 2013
    Hey guys, I'm new at this. Can some one help me by telling what it takes and what i need to learn to build a simple gaming console for my project. What programming language do you guys suggest and what processor should i use? And pls tell me what skills and languages should i learn to be able to build this and future projects. :confused: Thanks a lot to you all guys! :)

Last edited: Aug 29, 2013

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    What amount of education do you have that would make designing a gaming console look like a simple project?

ddatvo likes this.
  3. vpoko

Jan 5, 2012
    Check out the Uzebox, it's an 8-bit game console made with an ATMega. It's open source so you can look at what goes into it. Graphics can be on par with the NES.

Building your own console, from scratch, can be as hard or easy as you want. You can take a Raspberry PI, write your games for it in a high level language, and call it your console. Building a unique console, with your own mishmash of hardware, though, will be much more difficult. And once you get it built, you still have the formidable challenge of writing a game for it.

ddatvo likes this.
  4. ddatvo

Aug 29, 2013
    what i meant is a simple console. not a lot of features.:) i know its a hard project, requiring a lot of time for the it. doing the hardware and software work.:cool:

5. ddatvo

Aug 29, 2013
    thanks checked out the uzebox!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    You still haven't said anything about the skills or education you already have, so the answer from there is:
    Electronic Engineering
    Sheet metal fabrication
    Soldering
    and...the right programming language.

I don't know which languages, so I will leave that to somebody else.

7. vpoko

Jan 5, 2012