how to be good at electronics

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by fez, Oct 3, 2010.

1. fez

Thread Starter Member

Dec 6, 2009
    I'm in my junior year of EE in an american-styled college. Right now I am studying a course of microelectronic circuits, we just covered the diode and are now onto MOSFETs. It's all very exciting and interesting, because these are things I had been seeing in so many electronic, music-related schematics for the last two years.

But there is a problem. How will I reach the level of actually understanding the circuits as a whole, intuitively? There are still so many components, and it takes me a a while to analyze just a simple diode circuit! How does one analyze complex circuits intuitively without resorting to EDA softwares for simulation? How do you reach that level? I am dying to make my own electronic, music hardware.

TO2 likes this.
  2. Georacer

Nov 25, 2009
    That's the million dollar question! I have been studying 3 years now as an EE and for anything more complicated than digital logic circuits and simple transistor layouts, I am still at a loss.

Getting involved with making simple builds every now and then sure helps, but unfortunately, theory is essential, so read as much as you can too.

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    The simple answer isn't going to please, experience. When I was a teen and didn't have a very good grasp I read a lot, my aunt had a box of old Popular Electronics. This counts, and you build on previous experience. You also build kits or your own designs. To paraphrase an old saying, you learn more from your mistakes than your successes.

4. Rbeckett

Sep 3, 2010
    Fez,