How should I diversify/what's the next "big thing?"

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
I work in the field service department of an industrial components & AC motor drives supplier. Most of my work is troubleshooting & retrofitting AC & DC drives, PLC work, and misc machine troubleshooting. The 'powers that be' in my company seem comfortable keeping their sales and service confined to mainly AC drives. This has proven to be the most profitable strategy for them in the past, and it seems they desire to continue down this path.

I feel confident that they (we) can continue to make money selling these drives, but I fear that the servicing of them (my job) will become more and more a thing of past, as they become more and more user friendly. You almost have to be a dunce not to be able to figure out a problem with a drive that has a full text menu and idiot-proof layout.

So I want to start sowing seeds of thought in the higher-ups about branching out into new territory. It will be difficult, because as I said, they are comfortable selling what they sell. They are baby boomers mostly, and have been working with the same evolving technologies for 30+ years. They know that this path will lead them to retirement; but I fear that it won't lead me to retirement. What should I be preaching to them about? Right now I am lending towards CNC systems, servos, and robotics. But I was wondering if there's a no-brainer that I'm not considering - something that requires skilled technicians to troubleshoot, that has enough revenue potential to roust comfortable people out of apathy.

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
I think smart video systems are a good candidate for the next big thing. A system that can spot something out of the ordinary, be it a person in a crown acting suspiciously, a machine beginning to malfunction or unauthorized entry, and do it autonomously, without human control will be a growing concern.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009