How many LED's can a 9v circuit power?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by tarquinkrikery, Apr 15, 2009.

1. tarquinkrikery

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 15, 2009
    Hi there,

Sorry, I'm a newb, I've not made any kinda circuits since school and that was some time ago!

I'm building myself a pedal board for my guitar pedals- which all run off a 9v power supply (1500ma supply). I have 10 pedals using a total of around 700ma between them.

What I thought would be nice, was to have the pedals mounted on thich perspex with LED's underneath, giving a cool glow to the board. I wanted to use the 9v supply to power the LED's as I assumed this was probably be the best and most sensible route (since I already have it available!). I was thinking of running them off a switch and also running 6 x 3 LED's in series.

My question is if 9v is enough to power these - I really don't quite understand he principles of current! I know I need around a 220Ohm resistor if I hope to have 3 x 2.2v Green LED's in series, but that's about as far as my knowledge goes!

Sorry if this is a really dumb question!

2. alainp

Apr 15, 2009
    Hi,

the answer is yes. With 3 LED's in series the total voltage drop will be 6.6V; thus you will have 9V-6.6V=2.4V across the resistor. The resistor will limit the current in the LED's according to Ohm's law: i = V / R = 2.4V / 220 ohm = 10.9mA. Depending of the type of LED you are using you may need to adjust the value of the resistor. E.g. if you need 20mA the resistor value will be 2.4V / 0.020 A = 120 ohm.

3. Darren Holdstock

Feb 10, 2009
    Not a dumb question at all, and the arrangement you suggest is just fine. You'll get about 11 mA of bias current, which should be nice and bright with a modern green LED. I'd say 3 LEDs in series is about the limit for a 9 V supply - don't be tempted to slip in a 4th as the resultant small (200 mV) voltage drop across the resistor will make the current difficult to control.