How does this heathkit metal detector work?

dolomite dave

Joined Aug 13, 2009
Hi,

I found this Heathkit VLF metal detector http://www.hobby-hour.com/electronics/s/groundtrack-gr1290.phpand became intrested in it. I think i have worked out how most of it works, there are a few bits i am not sure about and was hoping someone could explain them to me. This is for a VLF Metal detector which from what i have read looks for small phase changes to determine if metal is found.

i may have this all wrong as i am new to electronics but i think that
Q8 L1 & L2 are acting as some type of oscillator transmitting a 7.3Khz signal.
L3, Q1 & Q2 the signal is received by L3 and amplified by Q1 & Q2.
Q9 & Q10 allow you to manually adjust the phase to correct for changes to the ground conditions etc. (this is because there may be a constant phase difference due to minerals in the ground, this can be effectively nulled out using Q9, Q10 does a similar task but to null out the types of metal you don't want ie ferrous)
the output form Q9 and Q10 is fed into U4C which i think is working as a schmitt trigger to produce a square wave. this is then used to switch Q3.
As Q3 switches some of the signal from Q1/Q2 will be allowed through, the amount of signal that come through will depend of if it is in phase or not.
I think C8 is being used to smooth this signal so that the result is a varying voltage related to the phase. This is then fed into U2, I am not sure if U2 is an integrator or a single pole filter, i think its a filter as this would make more sense. The output of U2 controls the audio Q6 & Q7

what i am really not sure about is U4A, Q5 and U1, to me it looks like U4A is a pulse generator which is switching Q5, U1 turns this into a triangle wave which is fed back into Q3 but i don't know why? the other odd thing is U4D which i think is being used to stop something only when the switch is used maybe stop the speaker from popping or something like that.