How does it actually work? (noob multimeter question)

jbuddyman

Joined Jun 27, 2016
Hi, I am a young hobbyist, and am new to the all about circuits community.

So I was tearing apart some multi meters and I thought to myself " Since multi-meters can measure AC, then why is there no transformer inside?" I know that transformers are meant to step up OR down AC voltage. Say for an example, I measure mains 120V AC. How is this meter reading that, but when I tear it apart, there is no transformer? Maybe there is, but I just am not seeing it. I am hoping someone can help me figure this out, or even educate me a little bit.

To all that reply, thanks for being patient with me, and helping me out. I don't know a whole lot! :)

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Transformers can work with AC, but so can resistors, capacitors, and inductors. There is no law that says only one kind of device can work with an AC voltage.
If you just connect your AC voltage to the right couple of resistors, the voltage will be reduced to the range that an ADC can work with. Resistors are good because they don't change their behavior with frequency changes. Capacitors and inductors do. You can still make a voltage divider with capacitors or inductors, but you immediately have to be aware of what will happen in different frequency ranges. A resistor will sit there like a lump, doing nothing but resisting, clear into the gigahertz range, but capacitors and inductors can get really bad at a few MHz. Self resonance, diminished capacitance, that sort of thing.

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008