How does Intel design CPU?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by jcyang, Jan 19, 2010.

1. jcyang

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 18, 2010
    I am pretty new to computer hardware world,which is quite different from its software companion.

The terminology is somehow hard to undertand for me now,to name a few what get me confused, ASIC, CPLD, FPAG, Soc,SMT,PCB, etc.But I hope I could develop my CPU someday in the futher.So I am curios about how Intel make their CPU?Steps?or some standard process?

Whats the percent of coding VHDL/Verlogic?What about the layout?Could you give me a easy-to-understand description.

2. maxpower097

Feb 20, 2009
  3. n9352527

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 14, 2005
    It's not probably wise to start with Everest when you are new to mountain climbing :) That aside, it could become a great motivation that push you forward.

For now, a lot of reading is what you need. To get an overview of what are involved in designing a chip, internet is a pretty good source. Try Wikipedia or other sources. Get familiar with the terminologies, the steps, etc.

Designing and manufacturing are two different but connected processes. The former is mostly computer based, simulation, etc. It could be done with relatively affordable hardware and software. Maybe not in Intel scale with billions of transistors, that would take a really long time. However, designing a simple working CPU that demonstrates most of the techniques/implementations is possible. Think in term of an ARM core rather than the latest x86 core.