How does bandwidth pertain to op-amps?

StToonz

Joined Nov 30, 2012
Hi,

I am studying for the CET and I come across the amplifier section. Specifically the two different feedback types. Positive and negative feedback. It says negative feedback reduces gain and increases bandwidth. Ok I have studied it yet but I understand what is meant by it reduces gain I just don't know how yet. Anyway not the point, I know what bandwidth means but how does that pertain to and op-amp that's where the confusion comes in.

Thanks for any help, this website has always been helpful
-conrad

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Negative feedback reduces gain since some of the output is fed back and subtracts from the input voltage. In a op amp the open loop gain is so high the circuit gain is typically determined by the value of the feedback elements.

That being said, the op amp internal compensation network, which provides stability for the op amp with negative feedback, generates a "gain-bandwidth" product for the frequency response, which is specified in the op amp data sheet (sometimes as the unity gain frequency response). Thus the bandwidth of the op amp circuit is basically determined by the GBW divided by the closed loop gain. For example, an op amp with a GBW of 1MHz would have an operating bandwidth of 100KHz in a feedback circuit that has a closed-loop gain of 10.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
One of the things I have noticed is that, "increases the bandwidth" seems misleading. It needs to be pronounced, "increases the bandwidth that has the same gain as the lower frequencies".