How do you connect to the internet and what does it cost

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by bertus, Jun 22, 2010.

How do you connect to the internet

Poll closed Jan 8, 2011.
  1. Telephone modem / dail-in

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Telephone modem / flat rate

    2 vote(s)
    15.4%
  3. ADSL / dail-in

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. ADSL / flat rate

    3 vote(s)
    23.1%
  5. Satellite

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Cable

    8 vote(s)
    61.5%
  7. UMTS / GPRS / 3G

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Others

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. bertus

    Thread Starter Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    15,638
    2,343
    Hello,

    Out of interest I would like to start a poll on how you are connected to the internet.
    If you want ( not nessasary ) you can tell us how much you pay for the connection.

    I have a ADSL - flat rate of 20 Mb download / 1 Mb upload here.
    I pay 30 euro per month including a basic telephony abonnement.

    Bertus
     
  2. loosewire

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 25, 2008
    1,584
    435
    Basic A t&t package. You didn't have to pay to become a Moderator,the word money
    Is floating around.
     
  3. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    I use Hughes.net satellite. Don't recall the up/download limits, but videos and streaming music are impossible. Cruddy latency, too.

    About $50/month.
     
  4. studiot

    AAC Fanatic!

    Nov 9, 2007
    5,005
    513
    £20/month to Orange covers telephone calls (including international) plus as much speed as is physically possible on my 1930s phone wires - usually around 8 down and .75 up. There is no cap.

    Note these are measured figures; Providers have been shown to be wildly optimistic in their speed claims - some are being investigated in the UK as just plain liars.
     
  5. CVMichael

    Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2007
    416
    17
    I have Cable (internet through TV line), I pay around $50, and I can download a 700MB file in 15-20 minutes... so do the math...
     
  6. jpanhalt

    AAC Fanatic!

    Jan 18, 2008
    5,671
    899
    Cable ("other") from Cox Communications uses combination of copper and fiber optic. Fiber optic service being added slowly.

    Provides telephone (local and LD). No add'l charge for continental USA phone. TV (basic, can't drop it from the bundle), and internet ("essential"). Internet alone is $33/month on my bill, but not sure one could get "just internet" for that price. Total package is about $100 per month.

    Internet provides 3 download and 0.4 upload, but varies with time of day. Can't go much higher because I am on copper. No limit (yet) on volume.

    @Beenthere: Many people in our rural areas use one of the wireless non-satellite services, e.g., Verizon. No latency problems, they claim. There are still several competitors in NE Ohio. Prices aren't bad. One of the local providers to a remote area of Lorain County is $40 per month with no limit on amount but only 1.2 MB download and 0.25 upload. Verizon claims to be a bit faster (1.4 MB/0.5) for the same price, but has a volume limit of 250 MB per month. $60 per month gets you 5 GB/month. By remote, I mean no ATT cell phone coverage and spotty Verizon coverage. The competitor uses 900 mHz and puts his antennas on silos, etc. The 900 MHz penetrates trees and other things better.

    John
     
  7. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    I get 4Mb down and 512Kb up for £15 a month on ADSL. No monthly limit. I should probably shop around because there are better deals now.
    I've got a £5 a month internet on my phone too but it is slow and the monthly limit is really low. Was really handy for downloading a new driver for my ADSL modem recently though.
     
  8. bertus

    Thread Starter Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    15,638
    2,343
    Hello,

    I did some speed tests at speedtest.net.
    http://speedtest.net/

    Here are my results from Amsterdam to:
    Brussel, download 15.19 Mb, upload 0.90 Mb, 50 Miles
    Franfurt, download 15.24 Mb, upload 0.82 Mb, 200 Miles
    Helsinki, download 14.73 Mb, upload 0.89 Mb, 900 Miles
    Portland,OR, download 4.38 Mb, upload 0.85 Mb, 5000 Miles

    You can test your own speed if you like to.

    Bertus
     
  9. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    I use a cable modem $44month 16Mbps.

    Ill post my actual speeds when I get back to my home.
    [ed]
    Ok, back home. Here is what I get:
    [​IMG]
    [/ed]
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  10. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    @jpanhalt - I have looked for any other connectivity outside of POTS. We are just out of range for ADSL (no passive extension available) and there is no wireless out here.

    At least we have running water and indoor plumbing.
     
  11. R!f@@

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 2, 2009
    8,733
    759
    I use a 3G connection from Wataniyya, a small USB device with a sim card.
    I pay MRF250.00 per month at a connection of 7.2 mbps.
    I get a tariff of 2GB per month, any usage above is charged.
    Up and down speed I donno and don't care, after using our dhiraagu ADSL I gave up downloading stuff's.
    Now I just browse and mostly am here
     
  12. sceadwian

    New Member

    Jun 1, 2009
    499
    37
    That's what satelite is for beenthere.
     
  13. sceadwian

    New Member

    Jun 1, 2009
    499
    37
    By the way, why isn't cable on the voting list? It's extremely common here in the US.
     
  14. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    Umm, good to see you reading the thread before posting. ;)

    ok..
    I was surprised by not seeing a 'Cable' option on the list either.
     
  15. jpanhalt

    AAC Fanatic!

    Jan 18, 2008
    5,671
    899
    The only thing worse than Hughes satellite is a 56K dial-up modem. I have gained an additional measure of respect for Beenthere, knowing what he suffers.

    What really bothers me is that someone in the Maldives -- need I name him -- has better connectivity than someone in the heartland of America!

    John
     
  16. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    That is rather ridiculous. But in the same vein, on NPR on the way home today, they were talking about the Federal Govt. has passed a law or regulation to provide high speed internet to American Indian reservations. Many have no steady telephone service, let alone internet access.

    One town shares 2 phone lines (dsl) between a Clinic, a school, and a community center. $1300 a month they pay, and they have limited bandwidth. They have monitor the kids research to make sure they dont spend time on google earth, or maps, or video sites. Else they use all the bandwidth and the clinic cant get online..

    Have a read:
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128004928
     
  17. jpanhalt

    AAC Fanatic!

    Jan 18, 2008
    5,671
    899
    @Retched:

    (from the NPR site) "But when it comes to American Indians, the Federal Communications Commission estimates that fewer than 10 percent are connected." Yea, the 10% that run the casinos.

    As for the KC Missouri area, I must have missed the mountains that make wireless so difficult when I was there last.

    John
     
  18. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    They are invisible mountains of magnetic flux that screw with the... oh nevermind. ;)
     
  19. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,764
    2,534
    You also left off FIOS (Fiber Optic), which is extremely fast (100mb/sec). About $50/month, part of a $150 bundle package (phone/internet/TV). My boy showed it's major weakness, they did a poor job installing the fiber cable underground the first time, and he found the part that was sticking out of the ground with a lawn mower. Loose one, loose all, you almost have to have a cell phone for this situation.

    I am seriously hoping they don't implement a tier system, where I pay for the data I download.
     
  20. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    HA! My folks had Fios installed. I also "found" the fiber.. But I was using a post hole digger. We were moving the fence line out 6 feet. The thing is, the area and holes were marked, and the installers said they installed the fiber at a depth greater than 24inches. I cut it at 6".
     
Loading...