How do power lines have a high voltage and a low current?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Robert Smith_1437948150, Jul 26, 2015.

1. Robert Smith_1437948150

Thread Starter Member

Jul 26, 2015
    Hello,

First of all, electronics is not my area so I have very little knowledge in the subject, but I was hoping someone could help clear something up for me in the simplest terms possible.

I understand power lines use a high voltage and low current to improve efficiency, and the formula for this is 'P = VI'. For a fixed amount of power if you increase the voltage then the current is reduced. To deliver 100W you can either have 50V and 2I or 25V and 4I.

...but looking at Ohms law, V =IR, if we want to have a higher voltage and lower current the resistance has to go up, e.g 50v = 2I x 25R or 25V = 4I x 6.25R.

Do power lines then need high resistance to send at a high voltage whilst maintaining a low current? Aren't power lines meant to be low resistance, where does the resistance come from?

If anyone can help clear up my confusion in the simplest terms possible it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Robert

2. dl324

Distinguished Member

Mar 30, 2015
    Wires are rated by current carrying capability; higher capacity means a larger diameter wire and more weight. Power companies use high voltage transmission lines and step down the voltage at the pole just before connecting to building service so they can use smaller gauge wire for transmission; reducing both wire cost and weight.

As you mention, P=IV; to deliver 1000W, you can have V=1000V and I = 1A, V=100V and I = 10A, etc. A 1A current can be carried in a much smaller diameter wire than 10A.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2015
  3. Robert Smith_1437948150

Thread Starter Member

Jul 26, 2015
    Hi dl324, thanks for the response.