How do I link a website to a text point?

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by Wendy, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. Wendy

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    I kinda sorta know how to do this in HTML (actually I know where to look it up if I want to), How do I do something similar here, or in LaTex? Or do I use the HTML technique?

    Basically I'm setting up an index in my blogs, and this would be a good feature to have. I pretty sure it is doable and even routine, but have never done it before.
     
  2. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Bill,

    Is this what you are talking about doing?

    AAC Volume 1

    hgmjr
     
  3. Wendy

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    Yep. This is what I want to do... How about it, or are you just gonna tease me?
     
  4. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Nope, the forum is a no-teasing zone.

    1. Copy the url, I go to the webpage I want to target and highlight the link and then perform a Control-C to copy it.

    2. Go to the forum edit page where you would like to place the link.

    3. Next, highlight the word or phrase you want to associate with the link.

    4. Next, clicking on the editing ICON that looks like a world with a chain symbol.

    5. A hyperlink window will pop up. Into that window you paste the URL into the entry line.

    6. Finish up by clicking on OK.

    I alway test the link by reviewing the post and then clicking on the link to make sure it works.

    hgmjr
     
  5. Wendy

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    Thankee Kindlee.
     
  6. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Although not pertinent to your original question Bill, HTML rendering in forum posts is disabled even though vB offers the option to allow it. We have HTML-tags, however these will only append the HTML-code in a sub-box within the post.

    Dave
     
  7. thingmaker3

    Retired Moderator

    May 16, 2005
    5,072
    6
    Now you tell me?:rolleyes:

    A second option for hypertext is to use the "[" and "]" brackets to manually input VB code tags into the post. Begin with the tag "url=xxxx" where xxxx is the url of the link. Put the text between the tags. Close with "/url."

    Example: replace the "{" and "}" with "[" and "]" in the following:
    {url=http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/l_sitemap.html}Our Site Map{/url}
    and put it into your reply.

    I find the manual method useful when I'm composing posts off-line in WordPad or some such.
     
  8. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    That would be the way I do it because I only use the Standard Editor (not the WYSIWYG editor like most probably do).

    Dave
     
  9. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Thanks for the alternate method. I will give it a try next time.

    I learn something new everyday.

    hgmjr
     
  10. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    I see that you have sorted out the technique nicely.

    hgmjr
     
  11. Wendy

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    I'm using ThingMaker3 method for here.

    Mwahahaha! I have power!
     
Loading...