how do i control an l298

txfirefighter4721

Joined Jul 30, 2009
If I were to use an l298 chip to control two small 12vdc motors what schematic would i use to control the polarity of the motors. Can I simply put power to one input and get a cw rotation on one of the motors and power to the next input to get a ccw rotation out of the same motor. Also can I put a variable resistor to the inputs to control speed. I really need some help. Thanks

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
More specifically, look at the bottom of page 6 of the datasheet that mik3 linked to.

If you are going to use PWM to control the speed of the motor(s), I suggest that you apply it to the EN input(s).

Also, don't suddenly reverse the direction of the motor(s), as it will be very hard on both the motor(s) and the L298.

txfirefighter4721

Joined Jul 30, 2009
Can you give me an example of how to incorporate a pwn into a simple schematic. I'm really new at this and I'm diving head first into it. Can you give me some schemtic examples and their explanations please. May ill have a better idea then.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Here's a couple of PWM circuits from Bill Marsden's albums:

The one on the left is easier to build, and has a wider range.
There are a pair of LEDs with current limiting resistors on the output so that you can get an idea of what percentage of time the output is spending high vs low.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
What is it exactly that you wish to do? Simply saying that you want to control two DC motors in forward and reverse direction isn't a lot to go on.

What's the voltage and current rating for the motors, for starters?

txfirefighter4721

Joined Jul 30, 2009