How do I 12v to 6v (not 5v) using 7805?

Grayham

Joined May 18, 2010
Hi,
I have been searching for this for a while but found nothing.

I have made the circuit from 12v to 5v using the circuit from this datasheet
http://www.amplebiz.com/spec/L7805.pdf
On page 18 (figure 19), but without the resistors R1 and R2.

But I want 6v instead of the stock 5v this regulator outputs.
I am new to electronics and cannot understand the formula for R1 and R2 to make this 6v.

Can someone please explain to me this formula:
VO = Vxx (1+R2/R1)+Id*R2

What is the 'Id' variable otherwise I might be able to work it out?

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
Id is the chip's supply current, between positive input and it's ground or common terminal.

It's in Table 4 of the data sheet.

Unlike for a regulator that is designed to be variable, the Id current is not fully specified. The datasheet just says it will not more than 6mA, so you may have a bit of trial and error.

Try a 100 Ohm resistor between the reg common and your circuit 0V. That will need 10mA to drop the one volt you need.

Then add a 470 Ohm resistor in series with a 470 Ohm preset between the regulator output and common, that will allow you to adjust the reference current between roughly 5 and 10 mA. Together with the actual Id of the chip, you should be able to adjust the preset for 6V out.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
You can also use a similar configuration the LM317 on the 7805 to bump its voltage up. Personally I'd buy a new regulator.

If you don't understand what I'm talking about, ask.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Id is the chip's supply current, between positive input and it's ground or common terminal.

It's in Table 4 of the data sheet.

Unlike for a regulator that is designed to be variable, the Id current is not fully specified. The datasheet just says it will not more than 6mA, so you may have a bit of trial and error.