How can I power 2 red LEDs for a toy?

damian

Joined Nov 2, 2009
just wondering if you can suggest a good LED forum for complete beginners to ask very basic questions. I am trying to build a toy figure out of beach driftwood and it has two eye sockets drilled in where I would like to place red LEDs. I don't know much about how to power these LEDs and I would like to go buy the parts I need. A neighbour suggested using two resistors, one for each LED, and tried to draw a schematic for me but he wasn't exactly sure either.

Could anyone tell me how to do this? I believe I will need to use 2 x AAA batteries and a resistor for each LED but I don't know what to ask for when I go to the electronics shop.

Very much appreciated!

Boo

Joined Oct 27, 2009
Well, your neighbour is right. 2x AAA batt's are ~3V. An red led is typically 2V. 3V-2V = 1V to drop by the resistor at 20mA, so 50 ohms.

Two 50 ohm resistors would do the job. Since 50 doesnt exist, take 56 ohms :)

k7elp60

Joined Nov 4, 2008
I would be a little more conservative in that the batteries may be a little greater than 3V and the maximum current of the LED's may be 20mA, pluse the LED forward voltage may be 1.8V. I would go with a standard value of resistor of 68 ohms 1/4W. I can rarely see the difference in intensity of LED's that are operated a 1/2 their normal current, so a little less is better.

damian

Joined Nov 2, 2009
I would be a little more conservative in that the batteries may be a little greater than 3V and the maximum current of the LED's may be 20mA, pluse the LED forward voltage may be 1.8V. I would go with a standard value of resistor of 68 ohms 1/4W. I can rarely see the difference in intensity of LED's that are operated a 1/2 their normal current, so a little less is better.