How can i learn c for embedded system

chris92

Joined Nov 13, 2013
Hi everyone i am a beginner in embedded system but quite experienced in high level programming languages. Am looking for the past 2 months how to get started with programming PICs with C language using mikroC. I have downladed a lot of their manual but it seems not to be helping. Thanks a lot

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
What exactly are you having trouble doing? Is it simply getting the MikroC programs to run, or is it starting a project, or writing code that the compiler will accept?

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
You can not learn how to swim without getting wet. And the same goes for embedded C. You have to use it in order to learn and like evrything some learning curve must be anticipated . A way to learn may be to create projects that you find interesting and at the same time fits your learning curve. Start simple like lighting and blinking LEDs. Then move to reading buttons. After that maybe learn to use ASCII LCD displays. At this moment making a clock could be a cool project. Along the way you must learn to use all the diferent debugging methods at your disposal.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I don't know of anything for the Mikro compilers but here's something:

Check into the PICkit 3 Starter Kit. Here's some features:

The PICkit 3 Low Pin Count Demo Board is an update to the PICkit™ 2 Demo Board. Modifications to the previous LPC board (DM164120-1) were made so that the full functionality of the code can be debugged without the need of a debug header. The software has also been rewritten to accommodate new technologies.

The following is a list of new features:
1. Software is in both the ‘C’ and assembler language
2. Extension of the number of lessons and modules covered
3. MPLAB® X support as well as the older MPLAB® 8
4. New PIC16 enhanced mid-range and PIC18 routines
5. Uses the universal XC8 compiler