How can I analyze the performance measure of a serial-parallel and serial-serial RLC circuits.

What are the performance measure you use for circuit analysis

• Q-Factor

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • Bandwidth

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters

Harish G

Joined Oct 21, 2016
Hi everyone.

I am a beginner to circuit analysis.

I have got two circuits to study. I would like to measure their performance based on some quantity (such as output power or Q-factor).

So I have attached the circuits here please take a look.

I know how to calculate the Q-factor for a normal serial resonant circuit or a parallel resonant circuit. But what I dont know is how do you calculate the Q-factor of the whole circuit (loaded) when the circuit is not just a normal serial/parallel resonant circuit.

Should we make it to simple serial circuit/parallel circuit and then find the total resistance and the reactance of the circuit ? , I dont know. [And again I am not familiar with converting these circuits to serial equivalent or parallel equivalent, I know only if the circuit has only resistive elements but not when it has RLC components in it].

So if someone can explain me how the Q-Factor of the circuit can be calculated.
or
If some other performance measure can tell which circuit is better.

then that would be a lot of help. Thanks.

Attachments

Harish G

Joined Oct 21, 2016
Find the characteristic equation of the circuit. That will give you a resonant frequency.
I made that simple. by making C1=C2 and L1=L2.
Now resonant frequency is simply, w0 = 1/2*pi*sqrt(L1*C1)

I guess I know what you want to say, but I dont have an idea on finding the B.W of this circuits.

PS: What happens if I want to operate at half power frequencies, say w1 and w2 and not the resonant frequency w0, how does the concept of Q changes then, sorry for question in a question, I am just curious to know.

Regards

drc_567

Joined Dec 29, 2008