Hooking up three phase power that is only being used as single phase.

Mark074

Joined Apr 24, 2009
Hello,
I am hoping this question is not to basic, but i am trying to understand this better and i am hoping someone will be able to point me in the right direction so i will be better informed.
Okay, i am in a 25 year old industrial building in western Canada and have 100 amp three phase service that has only been used as single phase since the building was new. I am installing some equipment with three phase motors and would like to better understand what is going to be needed to have this job done. I am assuming the panel will need to be changed but what i am unclear about is how or what is going to be required to run this equipment and still have the single phase power running the rest of the equipment in the building. I do apologise if the question is to basic, but i am not an electrician although i do understand the basics of a single phase system. I just want to be clear on what is going to be required to hook up my equipment. Trying to google the information gives so many results that it gets mind numbing trying to find an answer. I have attached a pic to let you know what i have and i can list off all the equipment that is getting installed if that helps. I appreciate anyones advice and i am just trying to be informed. Thank you.

leftyretro

Joined Nov 25, 2008
Well looking at your picture it seems to me your getting multiple power sources feeding into the box. The cables coming from the top center and top right look to be single phase power sources that wire to the top of breaker bank on the right.

The 3 phase power is coming from the large hole in the center left side and wire to the top of the 3 phase breaker and it seems that nothing is presently being powered by the 3 phase breaker as there are no wire leaving the bottom of the 3 phase breaker.