Homework help

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Garurumon, Feb 4, 2015.

1. Garurumon

Thread Starter Member

Mar 17, 2013
    Could someone explain to me how to solve this task?

So, there are two caps, and a switch. Before the switch is closed, the charge contained in the C2 is -180uC in given direction. The switch is then closed. How do I calculate charges for both capacitors after everything has settled (state II)?

I have a feeling that it's awfully simple, but still I can't imagine how does the initial charge in C2 affects the final outcome. :/

Pics:
    04022015515.png

2. Denesius

Feb 5, 2014
    OK, I'm not an electronics expert by any means, and I came across this out of curiosity, but I was wondering.....

When switch is closed, current is flowing thru R1 & begins to charge C2. This current will also produce a voltage that charges C1. As C2 charges, the current flow is reduced and the the subsequent voltage across R1 also reduces, so C1 begins to discharge. At the end when everything is settled, voltage across C2 is 80V, no current is flowing so voltage across R1 is zero, which means C1 is discharged.
    Yes?

3. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    It doesn't.
    It only affects the time it takes to reach the final value.

4. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    Hi there,
    It's worth recalling that the Homework forum requies the OP / TS to show their own work & reasoning applied to the problem at hand. It's poor form to offer a complete solution without that effort on the OP's part being demonstrated.
    Your suggested explanation has some minor flaws. But that can be resolved once the OP has understood the problem and shown their work.

5. Denesius

Feb 5, 2014
    It's always easier to spout criticism rather than offer an explanation, isn't it!

6. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012