Homework Flash ADC

OxygenX

Joined May 10, 2014
Hello everyone!

I am trying to design a flash ADC converter that measures voltage from 0 to 6 V with near 7-bit precision (my school assignment requires me to display the result on a 2 digit display : 01 to 99).
I have a general idea about the theory behind parallel conversion of voltage, but I still struggle to make the circuit work. My final goal is to cascade around 10 of these converter blocks, which consist of 10 comparators(9 for the second digit and the last for the first digit). But before that I need to make the display work, as the BCD converted data doesn't show up properly. Please advise.

I am new to electronics, so feel free if you have any other advice regarding this circuit.:)

Attachments

BytetoEat

Joined Mar 5, 2014
I believe you are misinterpreting how an analog to digital converter works. You wont have two seperate "resistor ladders" for the digits, just one which will feed your encoder and result in a binary digit output. Your encoder is only 4 bits, resulting in a resolution of 6Volts/2^4 = 0.375Volts/step . If you want to increase the resolution, you can stack encoders putting the "ground" of one to the Vref of the next, resulting in an 8 bit encoder.
Regardless of how you do it, the output range will be 2^n, because your encoder is turning the resistor ladder into a n bit binary number. So you will probably need to use a microcontroller to convert this n bit range to 0 to 99. What kind of display is it?

OxygenX

Joined May 10, 2014
Thank you for the response. I sort of managed to complete the circuit, but there are problems that need to be solved.