homemade spectrometer

pogman

Joined Nov 22, 2012
Hoping someone here might be able to point me in the right direction! I'm pretty new to this stuff, but I have an idea to make a homemade spectrometer using a CIS sensor salvaged from a scanner.

The plan is to use some kind of dispersive element in front of the light source, and then read the pixel values back from the array, giving a rough spectrum.

I have the datasheet of the CIS: http://rohmfs.rohm.com/en/products/...ontact_image_sensor/flatbed/lsh3008-ca10a.pdf

So I figure I'll connect a 8MHz crystal oscillator to the CLK pin (pin7). Then I just need to generate a start pulse, which I could do with my Arduino. But I can't figure how I would synchronise them?
I figure for reading the output, I could use my Arduino to read out analog values on the out pin.

As you might have guessed, I'm pretty new to this stuff! Any ideas? Am I going about this the wrong way?

Thanks

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
The simple approach is to use 3 filters, RGB, and take 4 scans. The fourth is B&W. Read about how The Wizard of Oz was filmed, and you'll get the idea.

pogman

Joined Nov 22, 2012
Thanks Wayneh.

Where I'm getting stuck though is the electronics side. I am pretty new to this stuff. I've done some work with IC's in school, but I've never attempted anything this ambitious.

I've spent the day googling and I've come up with some additions to my plan. What do you think?

1. Take an 8MHz crystal oscillator and input to CLK pin on the CIS device.

2. To create a synchronised start pulse with a ~ 200 Hz frequency (1 complete readout of the pixel values every 5 ms), I could use two RC timer type IC's e.g. SN74121. Trigger the first one off a rising edge of the clock signal, and then change the R and C values to give a 5ms pulse. Then trigger the second off the falling edge. This will give me a 200Hz start pulse signal.
So, I now have the pixel value readout being generated every 5 ms.