Home automation using phone (dtmf touch-tone)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by vinodquilon, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    india
    Here I am presenting my final mini-project setup.
    See the attachment in this forum or the link...

    http://www.scribd.com/doc/29233455

    I express my sincere thanks to all forum members for there great support
    without whom this project wouldn't have been a reality.
    :)
    Still I am welcoming new ideas to improve my final circuit.

    Attached Files:

  2. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    india
    7805 labels are reversed, I will clear it.
    at board 3 there should be 4.7K replaced with 470 Ohm and a 1K preceding all LED s.
  3. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    india

    Attached Files:

  4. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    india
    Take a look at my attachment.

    Attached Files:

  5. retched

    retched AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,198
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    I'll look at yours, if you look at mine. ;)

    You have a very interesting way of routing traces. It looks like something out of Mad Max.

    Can you plug this into a standard modem to receive the DTMF tones? That would make PC based software pretty easy. You could send standard 'AT' commands to the modem to control the units.
  6. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    india
    First time I heard about AT commands.
    The goggled search result is
    http://www.activexperts.com/xmstoolkit/atcommands/dtmf/
    Now I will try that possibility.

    Thanks...
  7. retched

    retched AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,198
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Yes, it can make your life easier.

    To send "4105551234" to your device, just plug the device into the modems phone jack and send
    ATD4105551234 to the com port that the modem is on.

    Also, If you needed to press 1 to select a device then 2 to turn it on, you can use 'P' or a comma to send pauses in the dialing command.

    For instance, if '1' selects the livingroom light, then '1' again turns it on or '2' turns it off:

    ATD 1,2

    Will send the DTMF code for '1' selecting the light then the comma will pause for a second then send the '2' to turn the light off.


    And it is quite simple. There are also codes for length of time the tone is sent and the amount of time of tones.

    For instance, ATS11=50 sets the register for the amount of time of tones to 50ms. If your device needs more time to recognize tones, you simply send the ATS11 command with the number in milliseconds that you need the tones.

    Here is a list of the AT commands:
    http://pcmicro.com/support/modem_at_commands.html

    And here is a list of the registers. See S11 like ATS11 is the register for DTMF tone duration
    http://pcmicro.com/support/modem_s_registers.html
    vinodquilon likes this.
  8. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    india
    Report attached....

    Attached Files:

Similar Threads: Home automation
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat small home automation Dec 28, 2013
General Electronics Chat home automation Jun 23, 2011
General Electronics Chat The DIY home automation & HVAC Rant: Dec 2, 2010
General Electronics Chat Home Automation May 21, 2010
General Electronics Chat home automation of door,lights and gate by using pc'parallel ports Dec 23, 2008

Share This Page