Home automation using phone (dtmf touch-tone)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by vinodquilon, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    234
    0
    Here I am presenting my final mini-project setup.
    See the attachment in this forum or the link...

    http://www.scribd.com/doc/29233455

    I express my sincere thanks to all forum members for there great support
    without whom this project wouldn't have been a reality.
    :)
    Still I am welcoming new ideas to improve my final circuit.
     
    #1
  2. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    234
    0
    7805 labels are reversed, I will clear it.
    at board 3 there should be 4.7K replaced with 470 Ohm and a 1K preceding all LED s.
     
    #2
  3. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    234
    0
    #3
  4. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    234
    0
    Take a look at my attachment.
     
    #4
  5. retched

    retched AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    309
    I'll look at yours, if you look at mine. ;)

    You have a very interesting way of routing traces. It looks like something out of Mad Max.

    Can you plug this into a standard modem to receive the DTMF tones? That would make PC based software pretty easy. You could send standard 'AT' commands to the modem to control the units.
     
    #5
  6. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    234
    0
    First time I heard about AT commands.
    The goggled search result is
    http://www.activexperts.com/xmstoolkit/atcommands/dtmf/
    Now I will try that possibility.

    Thanks...
     
    #6
  7. retched

    retched AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    309
    Yes, it can make your life easier.

    To send "4105551234" to your device, just plug the device into the modems phone jack and send
    ATD4105551234 to the com port that the modem is on.

    Also, If you needed to press 1 to select a device then 2 to turn it on, you can use 'P' or a comma to send pauses in the dialing command.

    For instance, if '1' selects the livingroom light, then '1' again turns it on or '2' turns it off:

    ATD 1,2

    Will send the DTMF code for '1' selecting the light then the comma will pause for a second then send the '2' to turn the light off.


    And it is quite simple. There are also codes for length of time the tone is sent and the amount of time of tones.

    For instance, ATS11=50 sets the register for the amount of time of tones to 50ms. If your device needs more time to recognize tones, you simply send the ATS11 command with the number in milliseconds that you need the tones.

    Here is a list of the AT commands:
    http://pcmicro.com/support/modem_at_commands.html

    And here is a list of the registers. See S11 like ATS11 is the register for DTMF tone duration
    http://pcmicro.com/support/modem_s_registers.html
     
    #7
    vinodquilon likes this.
  8. vinodquilon

    vinodquilon Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    234
    0
    Report attached....
     
    #8
Loading...