Home Audio Subwoofer Amp Design

CWorthington

Joined Dec 16, 2009
Hey, I'm new to All About Circuits. My name is Colton.
Anyways, I was interested in building my own amplifier for one of my smaller home audio subs. Im not sure how to go about even starting my project.
I did look into how to build your own amps and others like it on here but im still not sure what I should do.
I think my speaker(s) are 6in. 20w 8 ohm generic.
What i had in mind is, for my audio amplifier, it has an external for subwoofers, but the sub must have a built in or such amp. well i got this all set up, but its not powered right becuase it is a Bostin Acustics Sub for a computer. All im looking to do it make a gain or an new amp to power this sub or possible one or two more.
Ps. I would like to use the wall souce for voltage.

Any suggestions on where i should start?

Maybe even a small (handheld size or such) starters design for a small speaker.
P.S. Im currently in school for Electro-Mechanical Engineering Tech. im only a freshman.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Semiconductor manufacturers make hundreds of amplifier ICs. Their datasheets have the schematics and pcb designs.

Your 6" speaker is too small to be a sub-woofer although I had one that was only 4" at the beach 35 years ago.

Bose makes sound systems with a little 4.5" woofer and tiny satellite speakers. They make boom-boom noises but no real bass.

CWorthington

Joined Dec 16, 2009
5" Boston Digital BS735. It does what i want it to do. I just need the low freq. sound effects to make my surround sound more dynamic sounding =]

ftsolutions

Joined Nov 21, 2009
If you want to simply assemble a "kit" of a basic IC-based audio amplifier, you can do a google search on LM3886 amp and/or "gainclone" or visit chipamp.com which sells kits if you aren't ready to design one.

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007