Holisitic Understanding of Home-made Dimming Switch Circuitry

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by DutchlandDiesel, Dec 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DutchlandDiesel

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 17, 2014
    Hi all -- this is my first post on here.

The short version is that I started an industrial/rustic furniture & lighting design company, and the edison bulbs I use for my displays only really look good dimmed.

I have tried to integrate panel dimming switches into the design of my lamps by either hiding them inside, coring a 4x4 with a band saw and shoving them in there --
    anything to avoid a visible gang box (My opinion only: I hate the way it looks and I think it's cheating).

I want to make my own dimming switches, and I have never done circuitry before. I have read a textbook on it and have familiarized myself with Ohms law, and the schematics,
    and the symbology. However, the practical application of circuitry -- sitting with a circuit board and trying to understand why and where things get soldered, why the
    capacitor is needed in this situation rather than a transformer, and why a neon lamp can be used instead of a DIAC...these are the issues I have. I am unable to undertsand
    them in relation to one another.

Does anyone know where I can find a video or step by step tutorial where someone is making a dimming switch from start to finish? I have already looked in the resources
    page. For example, 'STEP 1: we are soldering the potentiometer to this side of the circuit board because .....', and 'we are using 2 0.068 250V Capacitors because...'

I know it seems strange, but I haven't set been able to understand circuitry holistically.

The bulbs are 60W, and the potentiometer is 10k.

I have been attempting this schematic.
    http://www.aaroncake.net/circuits/dimmer.asp?showcomments=all

Thanks in advance, and for taking the time to read.

2. blocco a spirale

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 18, 2008