Hii!! need to interface 4 A/D converters to 89c51 and then to Pc

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by usmankhanakbar3404, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. usmankhanakbar3404

    Thread Starter New Member

    Apr 10, 2007
    1
    0
    HII!!

    I am doing my final year project at NUST and need to interface A/D converters to the Pc with the help of Microcontroller if some body could help!!
    What I need is schematics and code!!

    If some one could guide me which microcontroller I need to select if the input signal is 6 MHz , Any Microcontroller with inbuilt A/D converters!!
     
  2. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    Microchip provide a selection of 8-bit microcontrollers (http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=74) that would be suitable for your needs, most with in-built ADCs. Look at the PIC 16xxx series (http://www.microchip.com/ParamChartSearch/chart.aspx?branchID=1002&mid=10&lang=en&pageId=74) and 18xxx series (http://www.microchip.com/ParamChartSearch/chart.aspx?branchID=1004&mid=10&lang=en&pageId=74) for your best options.

    I must also warn you that if you are expecting someone to give you schematics and code you will be sadly disappointed.

    Dave
     
  3. n9352527

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 14, 2005
    1,198
    4
    4 channels of 6MHz analogue input signals with built-in ADC? Isn't that too far outside of standard micro capability?
     
  4. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    Ignore.........
     
  5. n9352527

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 14, 2005
    1,198
    4
    The title of the post.
     
  6. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    Got it. I'm reading this on a small screen display and the title is reduced so I didn't see it.

    Dave
     
  7. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    In answer to your question: yes it probably is. This is a final year project and I would suspect that this issue would have been taken care of at the specification stage. The OP can confirm this.

    Dave
     
  8. kender

    Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2007
    263
    0
    I think, it's safe to say that a chip classified as microcontroller (uC) can not sample an analog signal with 6MHz bandwidth, let alone four (4) of them. That's just too much data for a uC. A digital signal processor (DSP) might be able to do it.

    Please describe the signal structire, where it comes from and the rest of your whole application. May be your problem can be solved/helped with analog techniques.

    Whose idea to sample 4x 6MHz through a microcontroller was it?
     
  9. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,163
    1,796
    This is like trying to play on

    "...on a cloth untrue
    with a twisted cue,
    and ellipitcal billiard balls."
     
  10. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    The lecturer possibly, either that or the student was asked to go a research what hardware would be suitable and came up with the idea of a microcontroller.

    Thinking retrospectively, my initial suggestion of a PIC 16xxx or 18xxx series uC was a lame idea, and I concur with kenders recommendation that this is probably in the realms of a dedicated DSP; Freescale do a pretty good range at a competative cost, but you must also look at you memory requirements, and many of the well priced DSP don't have a dedicated codecs (ADC/DAC) in-built (as required by the OP).

    Dave
     
Loading...