Hight efficiency 5v voltage regulator?

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
Hi guys,

I am new to MCUs(actually I am new to electrotech), just wondering how you guys power your MCUs projects.

I usually power a MCU with a 9v battery with a 5v voltage regulator, but on my simulation, the 5v voltage regulator on idle consume 47.327mW, have a idle current of 5.26mA.

With a cheap 100mAh 9v battery, it can only last for about 19hours, with a 300mAh battery, it can only last for about 57hours, which is not good enough.

here are my questions:
1) Is my calculation correct?
2) If my calculation is correct, what other better efficiency 5v voltage circuit are available.

Thanks

evilclem

Joined Dec 20, 2011
We power our dataloggers with a 5 or 6 cell NiMH pack, but they're designed to run in the bush with a solar panel.

One of our downhole instrumentation tools uses 2 x 3V AA lithium batteries (not rechargeable). These last longer than 3 days (battery test was inconclusive as piece of paper with start time was lost and the memory wrapped around).

4 x normal off the shelf lithium batteries seem to last a while too.

Some of our installations use lead acid batteries (VRLA). This would need an LVD circuit.

One the test/work bench however, you should always use a laboratory power supply. Use an old PC power supply if you don't have a laboratory power supply. This would permit the use of the 317 circuit you have (resistors look good to me). Keep in mind that the 317 is linear, it dissipates extra voltage as heat (wasted energy).

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
A tiny 9 volt battery do not contain much energy. Do you have to use a 9 volt battery. How about 3 LR6 or LR14 size batteries. And then skip the voltage regulator. Can you tell us more about your design what does it do?

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
If possible I find a battery that I can use without a regulator. I've used Lithium ion, 3xAA and 3V CR2032 coin cells.