High voltage extremely low currents

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Ynot1980, Dec 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ynot1980

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 16, 2009
    (Sorry this just kept going, I got carried away) I have limited knowledge of electricity. So please, if my questions seem silly understand it is a learning process. I have read the post "High Volt Low Current" But what I am wondering is if there is a way to trade voltage for more current in the circuit. Is there something that could be added to the circuit either passive or active(additional outside power)?

What i would like to achieve is the creation of a very weak momentary electromagnet from a high voltage extremely low current pulse. Such as a gas grill PZT igniter and a core and windings. Please, I'm just having fun so no slamming.

With a high voltage extremely low current pulse given as the only possible input to the circuit are there any components that could be added to the circuit before the coil windings of the electromagnet to trade any degree of voltage for more current?

I believe I understand that an electromagnet is really a short circuit and that that is part of my problem; I think.

As I understand I could add a resistor or maybe an LED but that would drop the voltage across the whole circuit and there would probably be insufficient voltage or current left to create an electromagnetic effect in my ferrite core and windings, is that correct?

I know I do not know enough about symbols to draw you guys a diagram that would not just throw everybody off. At least at this point.

I will try my best to setup an example...