high voltage amplification

nimaajbphs

Joined Jun 1, 2011
First off, Hi to all in the community! =)
this is my first posting. I'm an undergrad physics student and I need to build a high voltage amplifier that is, I need to turn an input signal(sawtooth 0 to 10 V pk to pk) from a function generator into an output signal : 0 to 100 V peak to peak at maximum gain.I also need a gain adjustment knob. I should also mention that output current needs are minimal as in they are in the fractions of a microampere range.

I'm sort of a noob in circuit development and I'm in desperate need of suggestions and advice! Currently I'm planning on achieving this by using an HV opamp such as http://www.cirrus.com/en/pubs/proDatasheet/PA240U_G.pdf but i'm not sure if that is the best choice. I'm planning on setting a basic non inverting configuration and again I'm not sure if thats the best design. I have attached a copy of the schematic. Please let me know if what I've drawn is correct. Any suggestions or advice is greatly appreciated..

Attachments

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
If your slope magnitudes are equal, your waveform is more properly called a triangle wave.
What is the frequency range?
What is the load? Are you sure it's not capacitive?

nimaajbphs

Joined Jun 1, 2011
sorry i should have specified. As you said the signal is a triangle wave. the frequency range is from 10 Hz to 5 kHz and the load is a piezoelectric transducer with a capacitance of 0.09 micro farads (http://www.thorlabs.com/Thorcat/15600/15639-S01.pdf)

Edit: I should have better thought this through, It seems to me that at 5 kHz and 100 volts I will be drawing 0.283 amperes.

thx again

Last edited:

nimaajbphs

Joined Jun 1, 2011
Does that mean that I need to supply -100V to 100V, Or can I supply -50V to 50V and then somehow add a DC offset to my resulting output?

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008