High temperature soldering

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Regected, Jul 15, 2010.

1. Regected

Thread Starter Active Member

May 24, 2009
    I'm a decent novice solderer, but I'm in a bit of a pickle. I have a project that has an operating temperature around 150C(300F), but I can't find any information about how to properly solder something to withstand such a high temp. Has anyone done this, and if so, can you give me any pointers?

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
  3. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    Do you mean the local ambient/environment is 150C? Good luck as you are exceeding the operating temperatures of most/probably all IC's.
    If this is a heater/nichrome element or something many times this is done with a mechanical crimp or brazing (very similar to soldering)

4. Ghar

Mar 8, 2010
    Most transistors specify a maximum junction temperature (which is always higher than ambient) of around 150C ... military grade parts are only rated to operate at 125C.

5. Regected

Thread Starter Active Member

May 24, 2009
    Thank you for the helpful info.

Many men with much more education than me have designed this device. It's a metering tool for down-hole oil well drilling. They have sourced all the parts required for the operating temperature and pressure. They have hired me as a soldering technician since they are just starting to enter the phase of an engineering prototype, and it's more cost effective for them to hire a technician than ordering the boards populated.

I know I can do the soldering; I'm just worried that I don't know enough of this high of temp.

6. BillB3857

Feb 28, 2009