High power DC to AC inverter without transformer

ContraSpec

Joined Dec 7, 2014
Hi,

Im not sure if this topic is still open but i would like to build a pure sinewave inverter using some old thyristor packs from some motor softstarters, semikron - SKKT 92B & INXS MCC 95.

Im new to inverters, but i do come from a electrical background and i do understand the risks involved in working with high dc voltages.
please could someone assist me with a circuit diagram for pure sinewave inverter making use of semiconductor thyristor packs instead of mosfets/transistors/igbt's if that is possible.

the project is to go fully transformer-less, using dc battery supply to whatever voltage required to make this work well (about 380 vdc input)
  • use either the Semikron SKKT 92 Amp or INXS 95 Amp thyristor packs,
  • yes i know i could purchase a commercial product, but the reward of building it is so much greater.
  • cooling for the thyristors wont be a issue as i have the heatsinks with forced cooling.
  • any means to log the input/output voltages/currents etc (arduino mega 2560) or ATMEL microcontroller chip?
  • control the inverter via the arduino? or ATMEL microcontroller chip?
  • load approx 5Kw peak @ 230vac, avg current @ 10amps. we have load shedding on our powergrid daily spanning for 4hrs at a time.
  • later i plan to add a solar pv and charger circuit with monitoring.

any help would be appreciated.
thanx in advanced
kind regards
trevor.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
This was split from
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/t...verter-without-transformer.37658/#post-790991

Welcome to AAC!

A thread belongs to the OP (original poster). Trying to take over someone elses thread is called hijacking, which is not allowed at All About Circuits. I have therefore given you a thread of your very own.