High pass filter or Low pass filter?

rawchicken

Joined Nov 27, 2016
Hi

I have a quick question about something that I'm very new to and I cannot understand and I need to.

Below is the circuit I am referring to. The critical frequency is 15.9kHz. Is this a low pass or a high pass filter and why? from my understanding I think it is a low pass filter because at higher frequencies the inductor is doing more to stop the AC, is this correct? If it is culd anyone give a slightly more detailed explanation as to why please!

When doing lab work with this circuit the higher up I turned the frequency the larger the value of the output voltage Vout was and the smaller the lead of the Vin phaser (I went from 0.1fc to 2fc), but how is that correct if it is a low pass filter, or am I completely wrong?

Thanks in advance for any help!

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Setup the equation Vout=something*Vin. Then plug in a few frequencies. You will see Vout increasing at certain frequencies and decreasing at other frequencies. That will tell you which frequencies are passing through and which frequencies are being filtered out.

DGElder

Joined Apr 3, 2016
An inductor inhibits AC current. Your output is not current through the inductor, it is voltage across the inductor. You should be thinking about what higher frequencies do to the reactance of the inductor and how that affects the current and voltages in the circuit. The idea "at higher frequencies the inductor is doing more to stop the AC" is too vague to be useful.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Thinking it through, Stop the AC is what it's doing. The TS just needs to think in terms of the current.