High impedance DC monitoring

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by arpex, Sep 20, 2009.

1. arpex

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 20, 2009
    I want to measure DC voltages over long wires, so I intend to use a twisted pair with a shield to eliminate induced noise. The voltage will be up to 15VDC maximum. I want to feed this into the ADC input of a microprocessor, so the input needs to be scaled down to be 4.5VDC max, say. I only have a 12V and a 5V supply. I have no experience with op amps, but I am sure that a low pass filter, coupled with a high impedance op amp should be able to do this easily. I don't know where to start. :confused:

Can someone help me please?

Thanx in advance, Arpex

2. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    You don't really need to use an op amp to scale down the voltage. A simple voltage divider with two resistors can be enough. Use 1K and 3K resistors to scale the voltage down by 3.

3. nirmal_rockin

Aug 7, 2009
    try using voltage regulators or appropriate resistors....

4. arpex

Sep 20, 2009
    My concern is noise filtering to get a stable reading for the ADC. I expected that a suitable op amp would have desirable common mode noise rejection. These are terms I know a little about and I presumed that these would be good features to have in this situation.

5. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    With an op amp you may introduce more noise than the existed because op amps generate some noise themselves.

If you are interested to measure only the average value of the DC voltage and not spikes etc just put a 10uF capacitor across the ADC input of the uC.

6. arpex

Sep 20, 2009