High Gain amp for pickup coil

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Skyler, Feb 11, 2014.

1. Skyler

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 26, 2013
    Hi, I'm still a beginner at electronics and I want to build an amplifier for a magnetic pickup coil for "hearing" computer noise from hard drives etc., finding the mains lines, and just to listen to audio frequency electromagnetic waves for fun to see what it sounds like.

I would like a good gain control knob to listen to very faint signals when I am far away from any interference. I don't care about that fancy automatic gain control, I just would like to hear very faint signals. (i'm sorry I don't have the decibel amount, I don't know how I could find how many DB gain I would like, I just want a device which has the capability of turning up the gain to A LOT.)

What practical circuit can I build that will achieve this with fairly low noise? I would like it to take voltages in the 5-12 area so standard batteries can power it, and enough power to drive a small 8 ohm speaker with adequate volume like a walkie talkie.

2. Seddie777

Jan 28, 2014