High Frequency Transformer

twenglish1

Joined Feb 25, 2014
I have been doing lots of research and purchasing components to build a high power switchmode power supply, first part i have decided to tackle is the high frequency power transformer, i am using an EE80 core, in the research i have done primary turns are calculated as follows:

Primary Turns = (voltage * 10^8) / (4 * Frequency(hz) * Max Flux Density(gauss) * Effective Core Area(cm^2)

Voltage = 330v
Frequency = 100khz
Max Flux Density of the EE80 core i chose = 5000gauss
Effective Core Area = 4.06cm^2

From my calculations and more research i will need 4 primary turns if i use a full bridge set up, or 8 primary turns for a half bridge setup, is this correct? i am still learning and would like to check my work as i go

EDIT: I caught my mistake, i used the Bsat(flux saturation) instead of Bmax(max flux density) did some more research and found that 1000 gauss is acceptable for the frequency i will be using, so i will need 20 turns for a full bridge setup, or 40 turns for a half bridge setup, correct?

EDIT EDIT: These are the cores i will be using: http://www.ebay.com/itm/271418168459?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

Last edited:

RamaD

Joined Dec 4, 2009
Is 330V DC? It appears ok.
First step is to determine the power handling capacity of the core. You can refer to the charts provided by manufacturers. Then decide on the turns and select the wire size. Check whether it will fit. If not, then go back to selecting the core. This is an iterative process.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Don't you think a small gap to keep the core from saturating in case the drives become imbalanced would be a good idea? If you do, then the number of turns would increase.

By the way, more information would be helpful, such as the input and output voltages and currents and the mode of operation would be helpful in evaluating your design (continuous 50% duty cycle or PWM -and if PWM, what kind).

ifixit