High Frequency Full Wave Rectifier

synws93

Joined Nov 18, 2016
<Moderator's note: This post was moved from http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/high-frequency-full-wave-rectifier.116931/#post-1062554 to create a new thread. It is not homework.>

Somewhere on the web there's a neat precision full wave rectifier that uses 2 single supply opamps and no diodes. Designed by a couple Spanish students IIRC...

I'd post a schematic, but this is homework.:rolleyes:
Hi @dl324 ,

I've found out the schematic that you have been talking about. Is it possible to use MCP6292 for this application? Sorry I'm quite new to electronics, and I have to do a project with precision full wave rectifier.
MCP629x specification sheet: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/21812e.pdf

This is the schematic that I've found out.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Here's the LTspice simulation of a simplified version of the no-diode precision rectifier.
I used a different op amp but it should also work with the Microchip device.

upload_2016-11-20_0-49-27.png

synws93

Joined Nov 18, 2016
What are the performance requirements for your circuit?
In my project, the input of the signal will be around 400 - 500kHz. And I want to rectify my signal to a precision full wave.

Your post title says "high frequency".
What is high?
It will be around 400 - 500 kHz signal.

Sorry for the late replies, as I was not aware that my post was moved to a new thread.

dannyf

Joined Sep 13, 2015
you are looking for small signal germanium or shottky diodes. There are tons of them and they are very inexpensive.

If you cannot find any, use small signal transistors. for your frequency range, 2n2222 would be more than enough. or 2n390x for higher frequency, or s901x into 100Mhz or over. or jfets.

choices are literally endless.

synws93

Joined Nov 18, 2016
Here's the LTspice simulation of a simplified version of the no-diode precision rectifier.