High Frequency amplifier

Johnny1010

Joined Jul 13, 2014
Hello everyone I am trying to built a discrete transistor amplifier using 2N3904 npn transistor. I am trying to achieve a 4Vpp output with 0.7Vpp (Sinusoid) input with a bandwidth of 120 MHz.

The amplifier that I have designed meets my requirement when simulated in Proteus but when implemented on PCB the gain starts to roll off after 1MHz.In my final design I used BFR93A (6 GHz UGB) still got upto 5MHz. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

Johnny1010

Joined Jul 13, 2014
Thanks Bertus for your reply I will be looking into the document you gave.
I am quite new at pcb designing and used the proteus auto-routing. I have attached the pcb layout. Would be looking forward to more guidance.

Attachments

Johnny1010

Joined Jul 13, 2014
Thanks Bertus,
I will be working on compacting the PCB as much as possible. I had used a simple single layer copper pcb. Do you think using a double sided one would make any difference. Also wanted to know if any other factor could be involved in ruining the gain and bandwidth?

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
I will be working on compacting the PCB as much as possible. I had used a simple single layer copper pcb. Do you think using a double sided one would make any difference. Also wanted to know if any other factor could be involved in ruining the gain and bandwidth?
You should use a 2 layer PCB with one layer as ground. You only have to etch one layer if you allow yourself some jumpers.

Your scope and probe probably do not have wide enough bandwidth to accurately measure 120 MHz. Your 120 MHz signal will be down by more than 3 dB with a 100 MHz bandwidth scope.

The probe also has a bandwidth. What is the bandwidth of your probe? The bandwidth of your scope/probe system is less than that of either the scope or the probe:

\(BW = 1/sqrt((1/BW_scope)^2 +(1/BW_probe)^2)\)

For instance, a 100 MHz scope with a 100 MHz probe will only have a system bandwidth of about 70 MHz.