High current timer help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by JohnnyAstro81, Sep 4, 2016.

1. JohnnyAstro81

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 16, 2016
    I am a complete novice so please please forgive my lack of knowledge. I am trying to build a circuit that will switch on, off, on, etc that will be 6V and approximately 3A. I have attempted to research this on my own and have been working with a 555 IC. I believe that the 555 puts out too little current (100mA) to power my device (3A). I would like the timer intervals to be about 4-5 seconds a piece. Using an online calculator my R1 is 10ohms, R2 is 130ohms, and C1 is .047uF. Is that correct? From what I have seen online I can use the 555 to power a transistor that will trigger the higher current? It says that the transistor will modify the voltage though and I want to keep the output to stay at 6V and 3A. How do I do this? Thank you for your time!!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Need schematic because 10 ohms is not in the range that causes 5 seconds.
    When we see the schematic, we can figure out how to deliver 6.0 volts.
    We also need to know what you are delivering 6 volts to.

3. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    Nothing like correct :(. But we can fix that.
    Yes. What is your power supply specification?

4. tcmtech

Nov 4, 2013
    At minimum multiply your two resistor values by a factor of at least 50 to keep from burning out the 555 IC.
    Then for the output current boost you can either use a transistor or a small 5 volt relay.

5. AnalogKid

Distinguished Member

Aug 1, 2013
    First, make sure you have a complete definition of what you want. Two things:
    1. Is it important that the on and off times be *exactly* the same, or only close? The standard 555 astable circuit cannot do 50-50, but a modified version can.