HEV battery management system

Flip101

Joined Jan 4, 2012
Hello,

I am an electrical engineering student and my colleagues and I are building a HEV for a degree project. We recently received GBS-LFMP40Ah Lithium Ion battery cells.

My question is can anybody provide me with any schematics or circuit diagrams that provides proper connection between the generator to batteries, batteries to electric motor?

At the very least could somebody please provide me with any helpful links that will allow for a proper charge circuit design. I have went through many sources where block diagrams are provided but I am more interested in actual connection diagrams and components connected to and from the Lithium Ion batteries

Any feedback is greatly appreciated
Thank you

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
This is really complicated stuff. I just worked with somebody doing development on EV technology. The lithium battery packs have to have individual monitoring for EACH CELL so that they can be balanced and monitored. He had developed some higher level software and control architecture to monitor the individual cells and do various things.... that never worked right BTW. The Li batteries also have to be charged in a VERY precise way to keep from damaging them.

Be very careful.

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
Hello,

I am an electrical engineering student and my colleagues and I are building a HEV for a degree project. We recently received GBS-LFMP40Ah Lithium Ion battery cells.
IMHO, Li-Ion cells are not well suited for use in electric vehicles. The new development on EV that I have seen are using Li-Fe type batteries (Lithium Iron) not Li-Ion.

Flip101

Joined Jan 4, 2012