help

iPromise

Joined Aug 11, 2013
I took apart a cheap calculator I had and I didn't expect to see this. I thought i'd be looking at a solderable circuit board with electronic components such as resistors, logic gates and a microcontroller all soldered/screwed in.

I'm a beginner with electronic/computer engineering and i'd love to have somebody shed some light. What type of circuit am I looking at and how far in terms of years for electronic/computer engineering must I pass to have the capability of creating such a circuit?

Thanks,

http://www.projectrain.net/images/20130819_204208.jpg

Last edited:

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
What I see is a rubber keypad, a LCD display and contact pads for the keypad. When you press a key, the pressure makes the wires you see in the contact area touch wires below them (which you can't see). On the back of the board should be a large chip, which would be your MPU.

iPromise

Joined Aug 11, 2013
So what type of circuit would this be? A printed circuit board?

Are printed circuit boards just layouts for how the circuit should be assembled? Whats the difference between a solderable circuit board and a printed circuit board?

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
A printed circuit board has traces (usually copper paths) printed (bonded) to a non-conductive epoxy resin fiber board. In many cases, the board is coated in a non-conductive lacquer (sometimes tinted green) to protect the traces on the board. Several areas of the traces are left exposed so electrical components can be soldered to the traces.
I cannot think of why anyone would want a circuit board with out being able to solder components on the board. That would mean that a printed circuit board and a solderable circuit board describes the same thing.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The heart of the calculator is under that black blob on the backside of the printed circuit board.