help with timed relay circuit

skinner927

Joined Dec 31, 2007
ok, It's more than help. I don't know any way to go about doing this.

I'm using it for a car radio, The radio doesn't turn off when the car turns off. It's not a problem with the radio, it's the car model years that vary, dont worry about it.

Is it possible to make a circuit that will open a relay for one second when given power, and then open that relay again for one second when power is lost?

So, when the car turns on, the radio would turn on, and same with off.

I can wire up to the actual switch in the radio. When I say relay, I say relay because I've only used relays before. I guess I could use a transistor but I don't know what the voltage is on the switch, so I don't want to use a transistor so it doesn't burn it out. Again, i've never used a transistor before so I don't even know what their maximum voltage ratings are. It wouldn't be more than 12 volts, its probably lower than that though too.

Thanks for any help or insight anyone can give me on this.

gee_emm

Joined Jan 16, 2008
Not to sound like a smart a_s,...but wouldnt it be easier to install a toggle switch to the radios power? maybe mounted near the ignition or something? ,... just a thought.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Do you have access to the point where the radio gets power? Can you move the power take off to a part of the electrical system that turns on and off with the ignition switch?

skinner927

Joined Dec 31, 2007
ok, here's a better description.