Help with Thevenin's & Norton's theorem

killer6008

Joined Jan 26, 2010
Can someone please help me solve these two problems? Also please explain by writing all the steps if possible so I can do similar problems myself.

Thank you so much.

James

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
You might have missed the sticky note:
Important

The Homework Help Forum is not a free homework service; we are here to help your understanding, but fully expect the users of this forum to dictate the course of their own learning.

When posting a request for homework/coursework/assignment help, you must provide details of your attempts at the questions.
Otherwise, you're just asking us to do your work.

killer6008

Joined Jan 26, 2010
Sorry I didn't read that.

I am not very good with this. First time I am studying it. Been sitting here for 2 hours trying to figure out how to do this. I only have two examples infront of me and these questions are completely different to them.

For question 1 between A and B the 15 ohm resistor will go to take off I. Also -j40 Vs needs to be removed. I can't really finish the diagram to move onto the next stage.

Can anyone help me with that please?

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
If you are new to this then Q1 is quite a challenge. So I will give you a reasonable "lead".

Without solving anything, I have attached the steps required to reduce the network to determine ZT across terminals AB. This is not the only approach - just a suggested one.

If you've not used delta-star transformation you will have to look that up in a book.

Attachments

killer6008

Joined Jan 26, 2010
Thanks a lot for that.

I tried to have a go not sure if I am right or wrong though.

We calculate Z A*xy and Z xy-B now dont we?

so for Z A*xy 20*j30/20+j30 than you convert them into polar for division and convert them back to cartesian. i got (13.83 + j9.22) for this.

and for Z xy-B you do j20.40/40+j20 and same steps with answer ( 8 + j16)