Help with the pic18f458 and the PORT command

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by johnnyinwa, Apr 30, 2015.

1. johnnyinwa

Thread Starter Member

Jun 24, 2013
    Heh Guys,
    I am programming in the c computer language using the xc8 c compiler (free version) and the MPLABX IDE both from Microchip. The microcontroller I am using is a pic18f458. I have completed my first coding project and have this one annoying bug in my code that won't go away. I configured bit 0 of port B with the following command (which worked fine) TRISBbits.TRISB0=1;. Here is the line of code that keeps giving an error:
    if (PORTBbits.PORTB0==0) numgen (float numb1,numb2,numb3,rannumseed);

The error keeps showing up at "PORTB0" in the above line of code. I am trying to read a logic zero on pin 0 of port b of the pic18f458. This is my first project programming a microcontroller in c. Everything else in my code seems to work fine. Anyway any help you guys could give me on this issue would be much appreciated. By the way the program is four pages long. ;)

2. JohnInTX

Jun 26, 2012
    I use something like this to define the input:
    #define MY_INPUT_TRUE (PORTB & 0x01) // RB0 == 1 evaluates as TRUE

Which generates:
    Code (Text):
    2. // this..
    3.   if (MY_INPUT_TRUE) BEACONstate = 1;
    4. // ..generates this code:
    5. 94:  if (MY_INPUT_TRUE) BEACONstate = 1;
    6. 0FB8  A081  BTFSS PORTB, 0, ACCESS
    7. 0FBA  D002  BRA 0xFC0
    8. 0FBC  0E01  MOVLW 0x1
    9. 0FBE  6E1F  MOVWF BEACONstate, ACCESS
    BEACONstate is just a filler from some code I used to demonstrate the use. The key is that the defined construct for the input generates a simple bit test and skip - just what you want.

XC8 seems to be happy with the old HiTech constructs so:
    LATB |= 0x01 sets RB0
    LATB &= ~0x01 clears RB0
    LATB ^= 0x01 toggles RB0