Help with synth keyboard

djex

Joined Feb 26, 2011
I have been playing around with various oscillator circuits lately and soon will be trying to put them together into a small synth.

Now I want to be able to play notes with the oscillator. At the moment I have two 555 timer square wave oscillators that are adjusted by a pot for the pitch. Now I know 555 timer oscillator circuits arn't proper synth material but I'm new to all this and it's a great learning project for myself.

Id love to be able to have a series of buttons that I could implement into a 2 octave keyboard and with each button is a different note in the octave. I read about adding resistors between each button in series to produce a different note but I read on a few sites that this would not be 100% accurate.

So my question is what can someone recommend in order to get accurate notes from each key press. Now you may say why does it matter if its just a learning project, well for one I like to do stuff right the first time and secondly I'm an artist my self and improper notes would drive me insane :p

I read about keyboard matrices but can't seem to grasp the concept of how they work. Would this be what I need?

I plan in the near future implementing a few types of wave forms into my synth with a few op amps I manged to scavenge off some old electronics. Would changing the pitch of a op amp oscillator circuit be similar to a 555 timer by changing the resistance? Sorry if these are simple questions.

Hope someone can help. :)

bribri

Joined Feb 20, 2011
a keyboard matrix can get pretty involved, especially if you want polyphony.

for a mono-synth, a string of resistors is probably just the thing. just using 1% tolerance resistor values would be pretty accurate i think.