Help with simple circuit....

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by rochler, Jun 3, 2008.

1. rochler

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 3, 2008
    Howdoo folks,

I'm a total noob with electronic circuits but I want to build a very simple circuit for a test lamp (to be used for a foucault tester).

Basically I want wire up a 'super bright' 5mm LED to a battery, switch & pot so I can control the LED intensity somewhat. Yes, I hear you laughing, but I'm stuck on a few points:

I want to run the LED from a 9V battery for size & convenience, but the LED only requires forward voltage of between 3.2 & 3.6 (min/max). Am I correct in assuming that this can simply be fixed by using the appropriate amount of resistance? The forward current of the LED is 20mA, so I calculated that I would need around 270 Ohms resistance - is that correct or am I way off?

If correct, what Pot. will be suitable - and can the Pot. provide the necessary resistance without requiring any additional resistors in the circuit?

Hope someone can stop laughing long enough to help me hehe.... :D

Cheers, Fred....
  2. SgtWookie

Jul 17, 2007
    Hi Fred,

No, it's not a silly question at all. It does come up rather frequently, though.
    LEDs usually have a Vf(typical) and Vf(max) specification for a given maximum current.
    The Vf(max) means simply that when 20mA is being passed through the LED, the Vf will not exceed the specified value.
    Vf(typ) is basically the average voltage you might get at the specified current if you tested a whole slew of the same batch of LEDs. They can vary a fair bit.

But your basic problem now is to find out what value resistor to use to keep the current from exceeding the maximum current of 20mA. We'll use Ohm's Law.
    R = E/I (or, Resistance = Voltage/Current)
    We'll customize the equation a tad bit:
    Rlimit = (Vsupply - Vf(LED)) / I(LED)
    Rlimit = (9v - 3.2v) / 20mA
    Rlimit = 5.8 / 0.02
    Rlimit = 290 Ohms