Help with RGB Leds

adamski07

Joined Sep 24, 2012
Hi good day to all. I'm new here and this is actually my first post. I'm new to these leds or any electrical stuffs, but I want to learn how I am going to use it. I Mod computer cases and wanted to use RGB leds for it. So basically, I will buy a RGB controller and RGB Leds. The RGB 4pins Common anode Leds came in today, but I'm not sure how I am gonna connect all of those? I was searching the net and it says that I couldn't wire it in series. What could possibly the best way to wire the leds? Also, do I still need resistors for it even I am going to use a led controller? If yes, what resistor for 12v rail of a computer PSU? If somebody can give me instruction on how I am going to connect the to controller then I would be so glad. Please avoid using electrical language, I might not get it. :confused: Thank you.

These are the leds that I bought : http://www.ebay.com/itm/110937592873?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
We don't know anything about the "RGB Controller" so we don't know if it can drive these common-anode LEDs and we don't know if it limits the output current.

The LED is common-anode so the anode goes to the positive supply for the Controller and each output of the controller must limit the current to ground through the LEDs.

The spec's for the LED shows 25mA for each colour. Will it overheat if all 3 colours are at 25mA? The Chinese datasheet does not say.

Tealc

Joined Jun 30, 2011
Maybe a link to the RGB controller would be helpful.

If the RGB controller is like the cheap ones that come with generic RGB LED strips then you'll need resistors in your circuit in series with each colour. RGB strips tend to have 3 RGB LEDs in series with 3 resistors to minimise power consumption and wasted heat.

If the controller is current controlled then things are different.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007