Help with Relay tester

Renemiami

Joined Nov 21, 2014
Hello guys, I am an elevator mechanic, with some knowledge in electrics.
Long story.....will try to make it short.
Older elevator controllers have hundreds of relays that go bad and cause trouble. As a mechanic, you can isolate the problem to 10, 20 relays...then you have to test/replace the relays until the elevator functions properly and the process is very time consuming, so I decided to venture and make my own relay tester.
First attempt was successful. Installed components in a box....
Relay socket....
push on and off switch
six led's since there are usually 3no contacts and 3nc contacts in the relays.
Connect the unit to 110vac, insert relay in socket(coil of the relay is 110vac), three led's are lit. Push the switch, coil is energized the nc led's are off and the no led's are on.
IF there are any bad contacts...one or more led's will not lit.

So far so good. But we have relays with coils reated 110vac, 220vac, as well as 12,24,48,120vdc relays.
Tried to improve the little box. Bought a couple of parts....started to draw the circuit..it did not come up so well.

What I have...
6 110vac mini lamps (relays have 6 contacts)
relay socket
two dpdt switches
one push/release switch
one standard potentiometer
one 120 to 240 vdc (step up)converter
one diode rectifier
one fuse holder

Could somebody do the drawing for me so I could make this happen.....and be able to get some sleep as well..lol.
thank you in advance.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Separate the coil side from the indicator side.

On the Load side: Best to use incandescent lamps that draw substantial current through the contacts under test; rather than use LEDs. Voltage your choice...

On the coil side: Can you use a small Variac for the AC coils, and add a simple full-wave bridge/capacitor DC supply behind the Variac?

Renemiami

Joined Nov 21, 2014