Help with PTC Overload Indicating Circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by jhausch, Jun 7, 2009.

1. jhausch

Thread Starter Active Member

Jun 7, 2009
    What a great forum and website. I really love the fact that you use vBulletin, too.

I would like some help with the attached schematic. I am self-taught and always learning, so please forgive any misuse of terminology and feel free to "set me straight" where needed.

I am using 4 banks of PTCs for motor protection of 4 individual motors. The banks of PTC's will flow as much as .6A per bank when in their high-resistance state (i.e., "tripped on overload").

The idea is when the PTCs are in their low resistance state, I am turning the motor and pulling up the base lead of the PNP transistor. To do this, I go through a diode (to prevent the banks of PTCs from back-feeding each other), go through a 3V zener diode (to get the voltage down to an acceptable level for the transistor), and then go through a 100 ohm resistor as a load.

When the motor overloads a bank of PTCs, the motor holds the bank of PTCs in the tripped state, but now the base lead of the PNP transistor is pulled low through the 1k resistor. This saturates/switches the PNP transistor and illuminates the 12V led (it is a pre-packaged LED with the necessary circuitry embedded to run off of 12v).

When the motor switch is opened, the PTC bank cools and the overload indicating LED goes out.

FWIW: the transistors are the TO-220 package so they can take the load of much more than the LED.

Some of my questions:

Does this look correct?

Do I need those first diodes to prevent the back feeding of the PTC banks or do the transistors provide that for me?