Help with power on transistor

Dmm

Joined Apr 13, 2015
I would like to setup a circuit shown in the attached. I need help figuring the power on the transistor. I have some calculations shown in the attached. And I get 2.7 w on transistor. Can I simply add R5 shown to bring down the power? Am I running the calculations correctly?

I am a complete newbie to electronics and circuits. I understand a few things but not all of it yet.

image_1024x764.jpg

ronv

Joined Nov 12, 2008
I would like to setup a circuit shown in the attached. I need help figuring the power on the transistor. I have some calculations shown in the attached. And I get 2.7 w on transistor. Can I simply add R5 shown to bring down the power? Am I running the calculations correctly?

I am a complete newbie to electronics and circuits. I understand a few things but not all of it yet.

View attachment 93266
Close.
The total current is only .180 amps (6X.03). You used 12 volts instead of 9.5 to calculate the total current.
I'm not sure what PIR is, but I will assume it can fully turn on the transistor. If that is the case the power in the transistor is lower as the voltage across it will only be a few 10ths of a volt.
Known as saturation voltage.
https://www.fairchildsemi.com/datasheets/2N/2N4401.pdf
So you don't need to drop the current thru the transistor.

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
1. You have to make sure how many volts of PIR output and calculate the values of R3.
2. The led limiting resistors are better in series for each led, so re-calculate the R values.
3. Make sure the power voltage of PIR, if it is under 50 mA then you can using 78L05,78L06, 78L09 to be the voltage regulator to provide the power voltage for PIR, used the voltage divider to supply power for PIR maybe is not a good idea.

GS3

Joined Sep 21, 2007
I have no idea what PIR is but let us assume it provides enough current to take the transistor into saturation ( 5 mA?).

Some mistakes I see.